User login

Respiratory Committee Members

Respiratory Committee Representative - Rachel Evans
File 165118

Rachel is a respiratory paediatric physiotherapist who works for Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership Trust as well as running her own private practice.  Most of her clinical experience was gained at Birmingham Children's Hospital, where she also specialised in respiratory care, including management of complex respiratory disorders and those requiring long term ventilation.  


Rachel is experienced in delivering respiratory training for carers and physiotheraspists.


She  became the Respiratory Committee Representative on National Committee in October 2016.



Respiratory Committee Member - Mel Amos

File 230756 

Mel qualified as a physiotherapist in 2002 from Keele University. She specialised in paediatrics in 2004 after a junior rotation in paediatrics. She spent 3 years working in community paediatrics in Enfield, North London and 3 years working at GOSH rotating around all specialties, especially respiratory.  Following this she did 7 years working part-time as lead paediatric inpatient physiotherapist on HDU and NICU at the Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital in Brighton and 3 years working part-time at the Royal Brompton Hospital as lead on PICU.  Since October 2015 she has been working as a specialist community paediatric respiratory physiotherapist for Sussex



Mel is a member of the ACPRC paediatrics SIG and joined the APCP Respiratory Committee in 2018.


Respiratory Committee Member - Melony Archer
File 206005

Mel qualified from Coventry University in 1995.  Following her band 5 rotations she specialised in paediatrics, starting in the community and special schools.  Following this, missing the hospital environment she then did an acute band 6 rotational post at Birmingham Children’s Hospital.  She now works as a specialist in an acute hospital in Wolverhampton providing in-patient and out-patient respiratory care for the children of Wolverhampton and surrounding areas.  Her speciality within respiratory care is Cystic Fibrosis and she became an independent prescriber in 2013. 


She is chair of the ACPCF prescribing group and joined the APCP Respiratory Committee in 2016.

Respiratory Committee Member - Zoe Johnstone
 File 159612

Zoe graduated from Queen Margaret University Edinburgh in 2003 with a Masters Degree in Physiotherapy following a Bachelors of Honours degree in Applied Sports Science.  She has acquired respiratory training in both paediatrics and adults within NHS Lothian and has specialised in paediatric CF and complex respiratory patients.


Zoe works within the Paediatric Community Respiratory team at RHSC in Edinburgh.


Zoe joined the Respiratory Committee when the committee was re-established in 2013.

Respiratory Committee Member - Heidi Reynolds

File 148273

Heidi graduated from The University of Huddersfield in 2006.  She has worked as a physiotherapist for Bradford Teaching Hospitals since 2007 across various rotations, including a significant time period on the acute respiratory wards.  In May 2016 she secured a permanent band 6 post working in the community nursing team as the community paediatric respiratory physiotherapist.  The major aim of the role is reducing hospital admissions for children with complex needs and chronic lung disease. 


Heidi joined the APCP Respiratory Committee in February 2017.

Respiratory Committee Member - Katherine Ronchetti
File 148273

Kath Ronchetti graduated from University of Wales College of Medicine in 2000. She specialised in paediatric respiratory care in 2006 at the Noah’s Ark Children’s Hospital for Wales in Cardiff initially being the lead on Paediatric Intensive and Acute Care, moving to the Paediatric Respiratory Service in 2011. 


Kath has also been involved in research investigating induced sputum procedures in CF children and has also co-written the paediatric chapters for Alex Hough’s Physiotherapy in Respiratory Care.


Kath joined the APCP Respiratory Committee in January 2017.


Respiratory Committee Member - Annika Shepherd
File 202842

Annika qualified from Birmingham University in 2001.  Following 11 years of practice at Birmingham Children's Hospital, she moved to Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust as the Clinical Lead Respiratory Physiotherapist in 2015.  She is responsible for the delivery of a respiratory physiotherapy service to children and young people with complex physical health needs, palliative care, continuing care and long term ventilation.


Annika joined the APCP Respiratory Committee when the Committee was re-established in 2013. 

Respiratory Committee Member - Sheona Stubbs

File 201807

Sheona graduated from Bradford University in 1995.  Since qualifying, she has worked in Newport in Wales where she helped to develop the paediatric in-patient physiotherapy service.  She achieved her MSc in respiratory physiotherapy in 2007.  Her role has extended since then to include outreach into the community for both chronic and complex paediatric repiratory patients.    


Sheona joined the Respiratory Committee in 2016.  

Respiratory Committee Member - Joanne Thornton
File 202918

Jo graduated from Salford University in 2008.  In May 2015, Jo and 2 colleagues were commissioned to set up a responsive Paediatric Physiotherapy service called SPORT – Specialist Paediatric Physiotherapy Outreach Respiratory Team within the East Lancashire district.


The service treats Paediatric patients in the community and various out-patient settings with existing respiratory conditions including asthma, cystic fibrosis and bronchiectasis, and also complex needs patients with respiratory issues. The service is aimed at reducing hospital admissions and improving patient outocmes.


Jo joined the APCP Respiratory Committee in July 2016.

Respiratory Committee Member - Esme Turner
File 159613

Esme graduated from the University of Birmingham in 2003.  She has worked at Hope House Children’s Hospice since 2009, working closely with children who are life limited or life threatened, and their families.  She has a particular interest in respiratory physiotherapy in children with severe global developmental delay and neuromuscular conditions and regularly delivers respiratory training to nurses, carers and physiotherapists.


Esme joined the APCP Respiratory Committee when the Committee was re-established in 2013.


Respiratory Committee Member - Lauren Williams

File 148273  

Respiratory Committee Member - Naomi Winsfield

File 148273

Naomi is a children’s physiotherapist working in both acute and community settings for Milton Keynes University Hospital.  She qualified from Oxford Brookes University in 2002 and has specialised in paediatrics since 2004.  She was the lead author for a Cochrane Review in 2014 ‘Non-pharmaceutical management of respiratory morbidity in children with severe global developmental delay’, which brings together the current evidence for the respiratory management of this complex patient group.


Naomi joined the Respiratory Committee in 2016.


More from the CSP

Back to top